Republic of Bulgaria



Deputy Minister of Interior 

Стефан БалабановStefan Balabanov


Born on August 20th, 1962.



1996 – Foreign Trade and International Law, University of National and World Economy in Sofia
1990 – Master’s degree in Pedagogy from Plovdiv University Paisiy Hilendarski

Fluent in Russian.


Professional Experience


On May 10th, 2017 - appointed as Deputy Minister of Interior in the Government of the Republic of Bulgaria with Prime Minister Boyko Borissov.

November 2011 – May 2017 – Deputy Mayor of the Municipality of Peshtera with main responsibilities related to the implementation of national and international projects and programmes;
2008 – 2011 – worked in the private sector;
2003 – 2007 – diplomat at the Embassy of the Republic of Bulgaria to Kiev, Ukraine;
1990 – 2003 – worked at different positions in the Ministry of Interior, including Head of Peshtera Territorial Police Department and Head of Criminal Police Unit in Pazardzhik Regional Directorate of the Ministry of Interior.



Deputy Minister of Interior

DeputyMinisterBerner  Milko Berner 

 Born on April 12, 1965 in the town of Kazanlak.




 1994 – 1999 – University of Chemical Technology and Metallurgy, Sofia, and National Military   University, Veliko Turnovo, Bulgaria

1983 – 1987 – National Military University, Veliko Turnovo, Bulgaria

1980 – 1983 – Polytechnic Seconadary School, Kazanlak, Bulgaria


Fluent in English and Russian.



1999 – Technology of Energetic Materials, PhD awarded

1987 – Chemical Engineer, Polymer technology, MSc

1987 – Chemical Warfare protection of the population and infrastructure, B.Sc.

Professional Skills and Expertise

Completed courses and training programmes in Germany, Switzerland, The Hague, United Kingdom, the USA and France.

His main professional skills and gained expertise are in the field of energetic materials, explosives, identification, analysis and destruction of chemical weapons and chemical weapons agents.

Has wide experience in multinational and multicultural environment and practical experience in preparation, logistic support and conducting of missions in war zones and post-conflict zones. He was a team leader of missions in Syria, Libya and Afghanistan. Additional related experience includes conducting negotiations between opposing parties in conditions of war conflict and project management.


Work experience

Milko Berner was appointed Deputy Minister of the Interior on 15 June 2017.

September 2016 – June 2017 was Deputy Director of Plant 4 at Arsenal Company.

February 2016 – January 2007 served as Inspection Team Leader at the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons in the Hague, Netherlands.

During his career he has held positions at the Ministry of Defence, the General Staff of Bulgarian Armed Forces, including the position of a Senior lecturer at Veliko Turnovo University. In 2002 was on a six-month mission in Kabul, Afghanistan as a Commanding Officer of the Bulgarian Contigent under the International Security and Assistance Forces (ISAF).

Has various publications in his domain of education and work. He is a holder of the Award for Valiant Service in 2002 and the OPCW Nobel Peace Prize certificate recognizing personal contribution to the organisation.




Head of Cabinet of the Minister of Interior 

ChiefOfCabinetZlatanov-1Mihail Zlatanov


Born on 15 June 1956 in Pernik.



1994 – graduated Vasil Levski Higher Military School in Veliko Tarnovo (The National Military University) as communications engineer

1997 – graduated G. S. Rakovski Military Academy in Sofia, Headquarters Commanding profile

2004 – graduated the Academy of the Ministry of Interior, Public Administration major

He attended additional courses and trainings, including practical training at the French Special Forces (CRS) in Paris in 2000


Professional experience

January 1986 – June 2018 – different positions at the Gendarmerie Directorate within the General Directorate of National Police of the Ministry of Interior, including Deputy Director of the Gendarmerie Directorate in the period 2014-2018

7 June – 30 September 2018 – operative assistant to the Secretary General of the Ministry of Interior

Since 1 October 2018 – Head of Cabinet of the Minister of Interior


Fluent in French and Russian.



Parliamentary Secretary 


ParliamentarySecretaryBelemezov Svetoslav Belemezov

 Born on May 8th, 1980.




2009 - Master's Degree in International Economic Relations from University of National and World Economy, Sofia

2003 - Institute for Strategic and Development Studies Andreas Papandreou (ISTAME), Athens; Diplom in Management Programme of the Solidary Society Fondation, Sofia

2002 - Master's Degree in Political Science from South-West University Neofit Rilski, Blagoevgrad


Fluent in English.



Professional Experience


On August 10th, 2017, was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Interior. 


October 2014 - January 2017 – Member of Parliament in the 43rd National Assembly; Member of the Internal Security and Public Order Committee and of the Committee for Supervision of the Energy and Water Regulation Committee

In the period 2007-2014 - management positions in banking and other financial institutions

2006-2007 – Security Manager in an international company.

In the period 1999-2005 – experience in the private sector.


Regional Directorates of Ministry of Interior

Other Ministry structures
  • Metropolitan Directorate of Interior
  • Traffic Police
  • Blagoevgrad
  • Burgas
  • Varna
  • Veliko Tarnovo
  • Vidin
  • Vratsa
  • Gabrovo
  • Dobrich
  • Kardzhali
  • Kyustendil
  • Lovech
  • Montana
  • Pazardzhik
  • Pernik
  • Pleven
  • Plovdiv
  • Razgrad
  • Ruse
  • Silistra
  • Sliven
  • Smolyan
  • Sofia
  • Stara Zagora
  • Targovishte
  • Haskovo
  • Shumen
  • Yambol