RD Smolyan


For the region

   Smolyan Region is located in South Bulgaria and is located in the central part of the Rhodopes on a territory of 3231,8 sq. Km. It borders the districts of Plovdiv, Pazardjik, Kardzhali and Blagoevgrad, and to the south the regional border coincides with the state border with the Hellenic Republic. The district is administratively divided into 10 municipalities - Banite Municipality, Borino Municipality, Chepelare Municipality, Devin Municipality, Dospat Municipality, Madan Municipality, Nedelino Municipality, Rudozem Municipality, Smolyan Municipality and Zlatograd Municipality. In Smolyan region there are 243 settlements, of which 8 are cities and 235 villages. The population is 121 752 people / according to NSI data from the Census in February 2011 /
   In the Smolyan region there is a relatively well-built road network. The main roads are: Smolyan - Plovdiv; Smolyan-Devin-Pazardzhik; Smolyan - Dospat - Gotse Delchev; Smolyan-Ardino-Kardzhali. The most busy and socially and economically important is the Smolyan - Plovdiv road.
   The relief is mountainous - the area covers the eastern part of the Rhodopes - centuries-old coniferous forests and pastures. The nature of the Rhodopes is an ideal place for winter and summer, rural, hunting and eco-tourism. The majority of settlements are tourist centers. Some of the natural landmarks in the Smolyan region are the biosphere reserves Kazanite, Soskovche, Momchil dol and Amzovo, the phenomenal Wonderful bridges, the Trigrad Gorge, the Devil's Throat Caves, Uhlovitsa and Yagodina.







Regional Directorates of Ministry of Interior

Other Ministry structures
  • Metropolitan Directorate of Interior
  • Traffic Police
  • Blagoevgrad
  • Burgas
  • Varna
  • Veliko Tarnovo
  • Vidin
  • Vratsa
  • Gabrovo
  • Dobrich
  • Kardzhali
  • Kyustendil
  • Lovech
  • Montana
  • Pazardzhik
  • Pernik
  • Pleven
  • Plovdiv
  • Razgrad
  • Ruse
  • Silistra
  • Sliven
  • Smolyan
  • Sofia
  • Stara Zagora
  • Targovishte
  • Haskovo
  • Shumen
  • Yambol