Press Office


06 August 2021

Mr. Petar Todorov was appointed Secretary General of the Ministry of Interior by a decree of the President of the Republic of Bulgaria


Based on a decision of the Council of Ministers, by a decree, President Rumen Radev appointed Mr. Petar Todorov to be Secretary General of the Ministry of Interior.

The Interior Minister, Mr. Boyko Rashkov, presented to Chief Commissioner Todorov the inauguration document. The Secretary General was officially introduced to the heads of directorates and services within the Ministry of Interior by Minister Rashkov and the Deputy Ministers Mr. Emil Ganchev, Mr. Ventsislav Katinov and Mr. Encho Mirchev.


Petar Todorov has a long-standing professional experience at the Ministry of Interior, by consecutively occupying various expert and management positions at the Regional Directorate of Interior in Plovdiv. He graduated from the National Military University in Veliko Tarnovo. In October 1989 he attended one year operational training at the MoI Academy, where he studied for two more years. In September 1992 he became a police investigator at the Highway Police. In 1998 he was appointed a head of team at the Criminal Police Unit of 3rd Local Police Station in Plovdiv, while since 2003 he has been a head of the Road Traffic Crimes Unit at the Regional Directorate of Interior in Plovdiv. Since October 2005 he has been head of the 1st Local Police Station in Plovdiv, until he was appointed Deputy Director of the Plovdiv Regional Directorate of Interior on 20 May 2021. On 25 June 2021 he was temporarily appointed Director of the same directorate by an order of the Minister of Interior.


 11 August 2021 | 14:56

Regional Directorates of Ministry of Interior

Other Ministry structures
  • Metropolitan Directorate of Interior
  • Traffic Police
  • Blagoevgrad
  • Burgas
  • Varna
  • Veliko Tarnovo
  • Vidin
  • Vratsa
  • Gabrovo
  • Dobrich
  • Kardzhali
  • Kyustendil
  • Lovech
  • Montana
  • Pazardzhik
  • Pernik
  • Pleven
  • Plovdiv
  • Razgrad
  • Ruse
  • Silistra
  • Sliven
  • Smolyan
  • Sofia
  • Stara Zagora
  • Targovishte
  • Haskovo
  • Shumen
  • Yambol