Press Office


A 43-year-old British citizen detained on charges of child sexual abuse

13 Sep 2019


The arrest took place on 12 September after a two-month crime documentation check carried out by officials of the Cybercrime Department with the General Directorate for Combating Organised Crime and police officers from the Regional Directorate of the Ministry of Interior in the town of Sliven.

The 43-year-old man was detained at his home in Sliven at around 06.00 a.m. during a specialised police operation. He was caught in the presence of six minor boys in one of the premises. The children have been immediately taken to Sliven Territorial Department, where officers specialised in crimes against minors, a psychologist and police investigators started working with them.

A computer configuration, video cameras and other items related to the crime have been seized in the course of the procedural and investigative actions conducted at the detainee’s home and vehicle.

The British citizen was initially detained for 24 hours. Subsequently, the detention was extended to 72 hours, following a prosecutor’s order. A court hearing is expected today, in order to decide on the prosecutor’s request for permanent detention.

Pre-trial proceedings have been initiated under the supervision of the District Prosecutor's Office in Sliven. It has been documented that the detainee repeatedly abused sexually minor victims from the town. He has legitimised his stay and contacts with minors from the neighbourhood, in which he lived in Sliven, pretending to be a pastor preaching a Christian denomination.

 13 September 2019 | 15:21

Regional Directorates of Ministry of Interior

Other Ministry structures
  • Metropolitan Directorate of Interior
  • Traffic Police
  • Blagoevgrad
  • Burgas
  • Varna
  • Veliko Tarnovo
  • Vidin
  • Vratsa
  • Gabrovo
  • Dobrich
  • Kardzhali
  • Kyustendil
  • Lovech
  • Montana
  • Pazardzhik
  • Pernik
  • Pleven
  • Plovdiv
  • Razgrad
  • Ruse
  • Silistra
  • Sliven
  • Smolyan
  • Sofia
  • Stara Zagora
  • Targovishte
  • Haskovo
  • Shumen
  • Yambol